ISBA-CTRIP

 Main description :

The new ISBA-CTRIP global land surface modeling system is more ambitious than the previous version, ISBA-TRIP. This system developed during the last decade is embedded in the SURFEX version 8 modeling platform. It is used in our atmospheric climate models and our coupled climate models that participate in CMIP6 but also in large scale hydrological applications. ISBA via SURFEX and CTRIP are interfaced with the Xml configurable Input/Output Server (XIOS) developped by IPSL/LSCE in order to provide both high performance output for massively parallel simulations, an easy configuration of model outputs and of some inline post-processing.

ISBA-CTRIP can be used with its physical core only, as for instance in our CNRM-CM6-1 climate model. It can also be used with the carbon cycle activated as in our « Earth System » model CNRM-ESM2-1.



 Physical core :

Schematic representation of the ISBA-CTRIP hydrologic modelling system used for climate and hydrological applications at the global scale (following Decharme et al. 2019).

ISBA is used here in its multi-layer "diffusion" version. It explicitly solves the one-dimensional Fourier and Darcy laws throughout the soil (Boone et al. 2000; Decharme et al. 2011; Decharme et al. 2013), accounting for the hydraulic and thermal properties of soil organic carbon (Decharme et al. 2016). The use of a multilayer snow model of intermediate complexity (Boone and Etchevers 2001; Decharme et al. 2016) allows separate water and energy budgets to be simulated for the soil and the snowpack. The leaf area index is imposed from satellite observations (as it is the case in CNRM-CM6-1) but, for some studies, it can also be interactively calculated (optional) as in the « Earth System » version.

CTRIP simulates river discharges and means "the CNRM version of TRIP". Indeed, the previous TRIP was coded in Fortran 77 with binary I/O format, which limited its performance, the development of new physical components, and its ability to be coupled with others models. Accordingly, it has been re-coded in Fortran 90 using the netcdf I/O format, and the previous global river channel network at 1° resolution has been increased to 0.5° resolution and enhanced over Europe. The river stream flow velocity is now solved dynamically via Manning’s formula and assuming a rectangular river cross-section (Decharme et al. 2010).

An explicit two-way coupling between ISBA and CTRIP has been set up via the introduction of a standardized coupling interface in SURFEX (Voldoire et al. 2017) with the OASIS3-MCT coupler. This coupling accounts for, first, a dynamic river flooding scheme in which floodplains interact with the soil and the atmosphere through free-water evaporation, infiltration and precipitation interception (Decharme et al. 2012) and second, a two-dimensional diffusive groundwater scheme to represent unconfined aquifers and upward capillarity fluxes into the superficial soil (Vergnes et al. 2012; Vergnes and Decharme 2012; Vergnes et al. 2014).

More details on hydrological aspects can be found in Decharme et al. 2019.



  Earth system :

Schematic of the carbon fluxes simulated by the ISBA-CTRIP "Earth System" version using 19 different surface types: 16 types of vegetation, bare ground, ice and rock.

The « Earth system » version of ISBA-CTRIP has a full representation of the land carbon cycle. The land biogeochemical module in ISBA represents plant physiology (photosynthesis and autotrophic respiration), carbon allocation and turnover, and carbon cycling through litter and soil. It also includes a module for wild fires, land cover changes, and carbon leaching through the soil. This dissolved organic carbon (DOC) is then transported to the ocean via the CTRIP hydrographic network.

Leaf photosynthesis is represented by the semi-empirical model proposed by Goudriaan et al. (1985), and implemented by Calvet et al (1998). Canopy level assimilation is calculated using a 10-layer radiative transfert scheme including direct ans diffuse radiation (Carrer et al. 2013). Vegetation in ISBA is represented by 4 carbon pools for grasses and crops (leaves, stem, small non structural carbonhydrate-NSC-storage pool, roots) and 6 for trees (leaves, twigs, aboveground wood, NSC storage, fine and coarse roots) (Gibelin 2007; Joetzjer et al. 2015). Leaf phenology results directly from the carbon balance of the leaves (Calvet and Soussana 2001). The model distinguishes 16 vegetation types (9 tree and 1 shrub types, 3 grass types and 3 crop types) alongside desert, rocks and permanent snow.

The litter and soil organic matter module in ISBA (Gibelin. 2007) is based on the soil carbon part of the CENTURY model (Parton et al. 1988). The 4 litter and 3 soil carbon pools are defined based on their presumed chemical composition, their location above- or below-ground and potential decomposition rates (or turnover times). The litter pools are supplied by the flux of dead biomass from each biomass reservoir (turnover). Decomposition of litter and soil carbon releases CO2 (heterotrophic respiration). During the decomposition process, some carbon is dissolved by water slowly percolating through the soil column. This dissolved organic carbon is transported by the rivers to the ocean by CTRIP.

In order to represent past and future climate evolution ISBA-CTRIP needs to take into account land cover changes that affect energy and water exchanges but also CO2. The changing geographical distribution of plant types was introduced in ISBA-CTRIP and allows to use the maps of land cover changes developped for IPCC simulation exercises for instance.

A detailed description of the terrestrial carbon cycle can be found in Delire et al. (2019).



  Publications :

ISBA-CTRIP :

  • Decharme B., Delire C., Minvielle M., Colin J., Vergnes J.-P., Alias A., Saint-Martin D., Séférian R., Sénési S., Voldoire A., (2019). Recent changes in the ISBA‐CTRIP land surface system for use in the CNRM‐CM6 climate model and in global off‐line hydrological applications. Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems, 11. https://doi.org/10.1029/2018MS001545
  • Delire, C., Séférian, R., Decharme, B., Alkama, R., Carrer, D., Joetzjer, E., Morel, X. et Rocher, M.: The global land carbon cycle simulated with ISBA, Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems, (soumis), 2019.
  • Voldoire, A., Decharme, B., Pianezze, J., Lebeaupin Brossier, C., Sevault, F., Seyfried, L., et al. (2017). SURFEX v8.0 interface with OASIS3-MCT to couple atmosphere with hydrology, ocean, waves and sea-ice models, from coastal to global scales. Geoscientific Model Development, 10(11). https://doi.org/10.5194/gmd-10-4207-2017

ISBA "diffusion" :

  • Boone, A., Masson, V., Meyers, T., Noilhan, J., Boone, A., Masson, V., et al. (2000). The Influence of the Inclusion of Soil Freezing on Simulations by a Soil–Vegetation–Atmosphere Transfer Scheme. Journal of Applied Meteorology, 39(9), 1544–1569. https://doi.org/10.1175/1520-0450(2000)039<1544:TIOTIO>2.0.CO;2
  • Decharme, B., Boone, A., Delire, C., & Noilhan, J. (2011). Local evaluation of the Interaction between Soil Biosphere Atmosphere soil multilayer diffusion scheme using four pedotransfer functions. Journal of Geophysical Research Atmospheres, 116(20). https://doi.org/10.1029/2011JD016002
  • Decharme, B., Martin, E., & Faroux, S. (2013). Reconciling soil thermal and hydrological lower boundary conditions in land surface models. Journal of Geophysical Research Atmospheres, 118(14). https://doi.org/10.1002/jgrd.50631
  • Decharme, B., Brun, E., Boone, A., Delire, C., Le Moigne, P., & Morin, S. (2016). Impacts of snow and organic soils parameterization on northern Eurasian soil temperature profiles simulated by the ISBA land surface model. Cryosphere, 10(2). https://doi.org/10.5194/tc-10-853-2016

ISBA "carbon" :

  • Calvet, J.-C., Noilhan, J., Roujean, J.-L. L., Bessemoulin, P., Cabelguenne, M., Olioso, A., & Wigneron, J.-P. P. (1998). An interactive vegetation SVAT model tested against data from six contrasting sites. Agricultural and Forest Meteorology, 92(2), 73–95. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0168-1923(98)00091-4
  • Calvet, J. C., Soussana J., F. (2001), Modelling CO2-enrichment effects using an interactive vegetation SVAT scheme, Agr. Forest Meteol., 108,129-152.
  • Carrer, D, Roujean, J.-L., Lafont, S., Calvet, J.-C., Boone, A., Decharme, B., Delire, C., and Gastellu-Etchegorry, J. P. (2013), A canopy radiative transfer scheme with explicit FAPAR for the interactive vegetation model ISBA-A-gs: impact on carbon fluxes, J. Geophys. Res. Biogeo., 118, 1–16, doi:10.1002/jgrg.20070.
  • Gibelin 2007, Cycle du carbone dans un modèle de surface continentale : modélisation, validation et mise en oeuvre à l’échelle globale, thèse de doctorat, 2007
  • Goudriaan, J., H.H. van Laar, H. van Keulen & W. Louwerse: Photosynthesis, C0 2 and plant production. In: W. Day & R.K. Atkin (Eds.), Wheat growth and modelling. NATO AS/ Series, Series A, Vol 86. Plenum Press, New York, 107-122. 1985
  • Joetzjer E., Delire C., Douville H., Ciais P., Decharme B., D. Carrer, H. Verbeeck, M. De Weirdt, D. Bonal (2015), Improving the ISBACC land surface model simulation of water and carbon fluxes and stocks over the Amazon forest, Geosci. Model Dev. 8, 1709-1727, doi:10.5194/gmd-8-1709-2015
  • Parton, W. J., Stewart, J. W. B., & Cole, C. V. (1988). Dynamics of C, N, P and S in grassland soils: a model. Biogeochemistry, 5(1), 109–131. https://doi.org/10.1007/BF02180320

CTRIP :

  • Decharme, B., Douville, H., Prigent, C., Papa, F., & Aires, F. (2008). A new river flooding scheme for global climate applications : Off-line evaluation over South America. Journal of Geophysical Research Atmospheres, 113(11). https://doi.org/10.1029/2007JD009376
  • Decharme, B., Alkama, R., Douville, H., Becker, M., & Cazenave, A. (2010). Global Evaluation of the ISBA-TRIP Continental Hydrological System. Part II: Uncertainties in River Routing Simulation Related to Flow Velocity and Groundwater Storage. Journal of Hydrometeorology, 11(3), 601–617. https://doi.org/10.1175/2010JHM1212.1
  • Decharme, B., Alkama, R., Papa, F., Faroux, S., Douville, H., & Prigent, C. (2012). Global off-line evaluation of the ISBA-TRIP flood model. Climate Dynamics, 38(7–8), 1389–1412. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00382-011-1054-9
  • Vergnes, J.-P., & Decharme, B. (2012). A simple groundwater scheme in the TRIP river routing model: Global off-line evaluation against GRACE terrestrial water storage estimates and observed river discharges. Hydrology and Earth System Sciences, 16(10). https://doi.org/10.5194/hess-16-3889-2012
  • Vergnes, J.-P., Decharme, B., Alkama, R., Martin, E., Habets, F., & Douville, H. (2012). A simple groundwater scheme for hydrological and climate applications: Description and offline evaluation over France. Journal of Hydrometeorology, 13(4). https://doi.org/10.1175/JHM-D-11-0149.1
  • Vergnes, J.-P., Decharme, B., & Habets, F. (2014). Introduction of groundwater capillary rises using subgrid spatial variability of topography into the ISBA land surface model. Journal of Geophysical Research, 119(19), 11,065-11,086. https://doi.org/10.1002/2014JD021573

ISBA-CTRIP

  Description générale :

Le nouveau système de modélisation des surfaces continentales à grande échelle ISBA-CTRIP est plus ambitieux que la version précédente, ISBA-TRIP. Ce système développé depuis une dizaine d’années est inclus dans la plateforme de modélisation SURFEX version 8. Il est utilisé dans nos modèles de climat (atmosphériques seul et/ou couplés à l’océan) participant à CMIP6 mais aussi pour des applications hydrologiques à grande échelle. ISBA grâce à SURFEX et CTRIP sont interfacés avec le serveur d’entrée/sortie XIOS (Xml configurable Input/Output Server) développé à l’IPSL/LSCE et qui permet de fournir à la fois des sorties à haute performance pour des simulations massivement parallèles, de configurer facilement des sorties de modèle et certains post-traitements en ligne.

ISBA-CTRIP peut être utilisé uniquement avec son cœur physique, c’est par exemple le cas dans notre modèle de climat CNRM-CM6-1, ou avec le cycle du carbone comme dans note modèle du « système Terre » CNRM-ESM2-1.



  Cœur physique :

Schéma du système de modélisation hydrologique ISBA-CTRIP utilisé pour des applications climatique et hydrologique à l’échelle globale (d’après Decharme et al. 2019)

ISBA est utilisé ici dans sa version « diffusion » multi-couche. Il résout explicitement les lois de Fourier et de Darcy dans tout le sol (Boone et al. 2000 ; Decharme et al. 2011 ; Decharme et al. 2013), en tenant compte des propriétés hydrauliques et thermiques du carbone organique du sol (Decharme et al. 2016). L’utilisation d’un modèle de neige multicouche de complexité intermédiaire (Boone and Etchevers 2001 ; Decharme et al. 2016) permet de simuler des bilans hydriques et énergétiques distincts pour le sol et le manteau neigeux. L’indice foliaire est imposé à partir d’observations satellitaires (c’est le cas dans CNRM-CM6-1) mais, pour certaines études, il peut aussi être calculé de manière interactive (optionnel) comme dans la version « système Terre ».

CTRIP simule le routage de l’eau en rivière. Il signifie « the CNRM version of TRIP ». En effet, la version précédente de TRIP était codée en Fortran 77 avec un format d’entrée/sortie en binaire, ce qui limitait ses performances, le développement de nouvelles composantes physiques et sa capacité à être couplée à d’autres modèles. Il a donc été recodé en Fortran 90 en utilisant un format d’entrée/sortie en netcdf. L’ancien réseau de rivière à 1° de résolution a été augmenté à la résolution de 0,5 ° et amélioré sur l’Europe. La vitesse d’écoulement de l’eau en rivière est maintenant résolue de manière dynamique en utilisant l’équation de Manning et en supposant que la section transversale de la rivière et rectangulaire (Decharme et al. 2010).

Un véritable couplage « aller-retour » entre ISBA et CTRIP a été mis en place grâce à l’introduction dans SURFEX d’une interface de couplage standardisée (Voldoire et al. 2017) via le coupleur OASIS3-MCT. Ce couplage permet de prendre en compte : (1) un schéma dynamique d’inondation des rivières dans lequel les plaines inondables interagissent avec le sol et l’atmosphère par évaporation, infiltration et interception des précipitations (Decharme et al. 2008 ; Decharme et al. 2012) ; et (2) un schéma diffusif bidimensionnel de nappes phréatiques représentant les aquifères non confinés et capable de simuler les flux de capillarité ascendante dans le sol superficiel (Vergnes et al. 2012 ; Vergnes and Decharme 2012 ; Vergnes et al. 2014).

Pour plus de détails sur la partie hydrologie de ce système voir Decharme et al. (2019).



  Système Terre :

Schéma des flux de carbones simulés par la version « système Terre » d’ISBA-CTRIP utilisant 19 types de surfaces différents : 16 types de végétation, le sol nu, la glace et la roche (d’après Delire at al. 2019).

La version « système Terre » d’ISBA-CTRIP dispose d’un schéma complet de la partie continentale du cycle du carbone. Le module de biogéochimie continentale dans ISBA représente la physiologie des plantes (la photosynthèse et la respiration autotrophe), l’allocation de carbone et la mortalité (sous forme de « turnover »), et le cyclage du carbone dans la litière et le sol. Il inclut aussi un module de feux de forêt naturels, la possibilité de représenter les changements de couverture des sols et une paramétrisation du carbone organique dissous (DOC) provenant de la lixiviation du carbone du sol. Ce carbone dissous dans l’eau est alors transporté vers l’océan via le réseau hydrographique de CTRIP.

La photosynthèse à l’échelle de la feuille est représentée par le modèle semi-empirique de Goudriaan et al (1985), implémenté dans ISBA (ISBA-A-gs) par Calvet et al (1998). A l’échelle de la canopée, l’assimilation est calculée en résolvant sur 10 couches le transfert radiatif dans la canopée en tenant compte des rayonnements direct et diffus (Carrer et al, 2013). La végétation dans ISBA est représentée par 4 réservoirs de carbone pour les herbacées et les cultures (feuilles, tiges, stockage, racines) et 6 réservoirs pour les arbres (feuilles, tiges, troncs, stockage, racines fines, racines ligneuses) (Gibelin et al, 2007 ; Joetzjer et al, 2015). La phénologie des feuilles résulte directement du bilan de carbone des feuilles (Calvet et Soussana, 2001). Le modèle distingue 16 types de végétation (9 types d’arbre, 1 type d’arbuste, 3 types d’herbacées et 3 types de céréales) et 3 types de surface non végétale (désert, roche, glaciers).

Le module de litière et de carbone organique du sol est basé sur la partie carbone du modèle CENTURY (Parton et al, 1988). Les 4 réservoirs de litière et les 3 réservoirs de carbone du sol sont définis par leur position au-dessus du sol ou dans le sol, et leurs taux de décomposition potentiels présupposés. Les réservoirs de litière sont alimentés par les débris de végétation morte provenant des différents réservoirs de biomasse (feuilles, tiges, racines etc). La décomposition de la litière et du carbone du sol libère du CO2 qui constitue la respiration hétérotrophe. Durant ce processus de décomposition une partie du carbone organique est dissous dans l’eau qui percole lentement dans la colonne de sol. Ce carbone organique dissous est transporté par les rivières jusqu’à l’océan par CTRIP.

Enfin, pour représenter l’évolution passée et future du climat, ISBA-CTRIP doit tenir compte des changements de couverture des sols, notamment la déforestation, qui affectent les échanges d’énergie, d’eau et de CO2 à la surface. La représentation de ce changement de la distribution géographique des types de plantes dans ISBA-CTRIP a été introduite et permet d’utiliser les cartes de changement de couverture des sols fournies pour, par exemple, les simulations du GIEC.

Pour plus de détails sur cette version « système Terre » voir Delire et al. (2019).



  Publications :

ISBA-CTRIP :

  • Decharme B., Delire C., Minvielle M., Colin J., Vergnes J.-P., Alias A., Saint-Martin D., Séférian R., Sénési S., Voldoire A., (2019). Recent changes in the ISBA‐CTRIP land surface system for use in the CNRM‐CM6 climate model and in global off‐line hydrological applications. Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems, 11. https://doi.org/10.1029/2018MS001545
  • Delire, C., Séférian, R., Decharme, B., Alkama, R., Carrer, D., Joetzjer, E., Morel, X. et Rocher, M. : The global land carbon cycle simulated with ISBA, Journal of Advances in Modeling Earth Systems, (soumis), 2019.
  • Voldoire, A., Decharme, B., Pianezze, J., Lebeaupin Brossier, C., Sevault, F., Seyfried, L., et al. (2017). SURFEX v8.0 interface with OASIS3-MCT to couple atmosphere with hydrology, ocean, waves and sea-ice models, from coastal to global scales. Geoscientific Model Development, 10(11). https://doi.org/10.5194/gmd-10-4207-2017

ISBA "diffusion" :

  • Decharme, B., Boone, A., Delire, C., & Noilhan, J. (2011). Local evaluation of the Interaction between Soil Biosphere Atmosphere soil multilayer diffusion scheme using four pedotransfer functions. Journal of Geophysical Research Atmospheres, 116(20). https://doi.org/10.1029/2011JD016002
  • Decharme, B., Martin, E., & Faroux, S. (2013). Reconciling soil thermal and hydrological lower boundary conditions in land surface models. Journal of Geophysical Research Atmospheres, 118(14). https://doi.org/10.1002/jgrd.50631
  • Decharme, B., Brun, E., Boone, A., Delire, C., Le Moigne, P., & Morin, S. (2016). Impacts of snow and organic soils parameterization on northern Eurasian soil temperature profiles simulated by the ISBA land surface model. Cryosphere, 10(2). https://doi.org/10.5194/tc-10-853-2016

ISBA "carbone" :

  • Calvet, J.-C., Noilhan, J., Roujean, J.-L. L., Bessemoulin, P., Cabelguenne, M., Olioso, A., & Wigneron, J.-P. P. (1998). An interactive vegetation SVAT model tested against data from six contrasting sites. Agricultural and Forest Meteorology, 92(2), 73–95. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0168-1923(98)00091-4
  • Calvet, J. C., Soussana J., F. (2001), Modelling CO2-enrichment effects using an interactive vegetation SVAT scheme, Agr. Forest Meteol., 108,129-152.
  • Carrer, D, Roujean, J.-L., Lafont, S., Calvet, J.-C., Boone, A., Decharme, B., Delire, C., and Gastellu-Etchegorry, J. P. (2013), A canopy radiative transfer scheme with explicit FAPAR for the interactive vegetation model ISBA-A-gs : impact on carbon fluxes, J. Geophys. Res. Biogeo., 118, 1–16, doi:10.1002/jgrg.20070.
  • Gibelin 2007, Cycle du carbone dans un modèle de surface continentale : modélisation, validation et mise en oeuvre à l’échelle globale, thèse de doctorat, 2007
  • Goudriaan, J., H.H. van Laar, H. van Keulen & W. Louwerse : Photosynthesis, C0 2 and plant production. In : W. Day & R.K. Atkin (Eds.), Wheat growth and modelling. NATO AS/ Series, Series A, Vol 86. Plenum Press, New York, 107-122. 1985
  • Joetzjer E., Delire C., Douville H., Ciais P., Decharme B., D. Carrer, H. Verbeeck, M. De Weirdt, D. Bonal (2015), Improving the ISBACC land surface model simulation of water and carbon fluxes and stocks over the Amazon forest, Geosci. Model Dev. 8, 1709-1727, doi:10.5194/gmd-8-1709-2015
  • Parton, W. J., Stewart, J. W. B., & Cole, C. V. (1988). Dynamics of C, N, P and S in grassland soils : a model. Biogeochemistry, 5(1), 109–131. https://doi.org/10.1007/BF02180320

CTRIP :

  • Decharme, B., Douville, H., Prigent, C., Papa, F., & Aires, F. (2008). A new river flooding scheme for global climate applications  : Off-line evaluation over South America. Journal of Geophysical Research Atmospheres, 113(11). https://doi.org/10.1029/2007JD009376
  • Decharme, B., Alkama, R., Douville, H., Becker, M., & Cazenave, A. (2010). Global Evaluation of the ISBA-TRIP Continental Hydrological System. Part II : Uncertainties in River Routing Simulation Related to Flow Velocity and Groundwater Storage. Journal of Hydrometeorology, 11(3), 601–617. https://doi.org/10.1175/2010JHM1212.1
  • Decharme, B., Alkama, R., Papa, F., Faroux, S., Douville, H., & Prigent, C. (2012). Global off-line evaluation of the ISBA-TRIP flood model. Climate Dynamics, 38(7–8), 1389–1412. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00382-011-1054-9
  • Vergnes, J.-P., & Decharme, B. (2012). A simple groundwater scheme in the TRIP river routing model : Global off-line evaluation against GRACE terrestrial water storage estimates and observed river discharges. Hydrology and Earth System Sciences, 16(10). https://doi.org/10.5194/hess-16-3889-2012
  • Vergnes, J.-P., Decharme, B., Alkama, R., Martin, E., Habets, F., & Douville, H. (2012). A simple groundwater scheme for hydrological and climate applications : Description and offline evaluation over France. Journal of Hydrometeorology, 13(4). https://doi.org/10.1175/JHM-D-11-0149.1
  • Vergnes, J.-P., Decharme, B., & Habets, F. (2014). Introduction of groundwater capillary rises using subgrid spatial variability of topography into the ISBA land surface model. Journal of Geophysical Research, 119(19), 11,065-11,086. https://doi.org/10.1002/2014JD021573