Coupled models

CNRM-CM5

  Description

CNRM-CM5 is an Earth system model designed to run climate simulations. It consists of several existing models designed independently and coupled through the OASIS software developed at CERFACS.
- ARPEGE-Climate for the atmosphere
- NEMO for the ocean, developed by the NEMO consortium (CMCC, CNRS, INGV, Mercator-océan, Met-Office, NOC)
- GELATO for sea-ice, developed at CNRM-GAME (Salas-Mélia, 2002)
- SURFEX for land (ISBA scheme) and the ocean-atmospheric fluxes
- TRIP to simulate river routing and water discharge from rivers to the ocean (initially developed at Tokyo University).

CNRM-CM5 is jointly developed and used by CNRM-GAME and CERFACS.

 Applications

CNRM-CM5 is able to simulate present climate and its variability on timescales ranging from months to centuries. In particular, this model is used to perform experiments in the framework of the Coupled Model Intercomparison Project (CMIP5), which will serve as a base of the next IPCC assessment report. The CNRM-GAME CMIP5 data portal is the entry point to the model output generated by CNRM-CM5 within this international project.
CNRM-CM5 is a fundamental tool
- to improve our understanding of the climate system
- to simulate the historical period (1850-present) and ti perform climate change attribution studies
- to simulate future climate depending on greenhouse gases scenarios
- to simulate paleo-climates: last interglacial (131000-115000 years before present), last glacial maximum (21000 years before present), mid-holocene (6000 years before present)
- to perform seasonal forecasts

 A few results

The figure above represents the global mean near surface air temperature simulated by CNRM-CM5 (orange curves) over 1850-2010. The black curve represents HadCRUT3 observations. In both cases, temperature anomalies relative to 1961-1990 were plotted. Ten simulations were performed with CNRM-CM5, in order to assess the internal variability of climate, since the simulated climate varies slightly from one simulation to another. All these simulations include the changes in atmospheric greenhouse gases and aerosols. Unlike greenhouse gases, atmospheric aerosols, which are small particles, have a cooling impact on climate. The variations in solar irradiance were also taken into account in CNRM-CM5. These variations, namely the 11-year solar cycle, cause variations in global mean surface temperature of the order of about 0.1°C. Finally, the impact of major volcanic eruptions was included, since each of them has a significant cooling effect (several tenths of °C). This effect can be seen in our simulations in 1883 (Krakatoa), 1902 (Santa Maria), 1964 (Agung), 1982 (El Chichon) and 1991 (Pinatubo). It is also obvious in observations, even if it is probably much underestimated in the case of the Krakatoa eruption. Finally, the observed general warming trend over 1850-2010 is rather well reproduced by the model.

 References

Salas-Mélia, D. (2002) : A global coupled sea ice-ocean model. Ocean Modelling 4, 137-172.

Salas-Mélia, D., F. Chauvin, M. Déqué, H. Douville, J.-F. Gueremy, F. Chauvin, S. Planton, J.-F. Royer and S. Tyteca (2005) : Description and validation of the CNRM-CM3 global coupled model, CNRM Tech. Rep. 103.

Voldoire, A., E. Sanchez-Gomez, D. Salas y Mélia, B. Decharme, C. Cassou, S.Sénési, S. Valcke, I. Beau, A. Alias, M. Chevallier, M. Déqué, J. Deshayes, H. Douville, E. Fernandez, G. Madec, E. Maisonnave , M.-P. Moine, S. Planton, D.Saint-Martin, S. Szopa, S. Tyteca, R. Alkama, S. Belamari, A. Braun, L. Coquart, F. Chauvin (2011) : The CNRM-CM5.1 global climate model: description and basic evaluation, Clim. Dyn., accepted, DOI:10.1007/s00382-011-1259-y. Available here.

Modèles couplés

CNRM-CM5

  Description

CNRM-CM5 est un modèle du « système-Terre » dédié principalement à la réalisation de scénarios climatiques. Un tel modèle est constitué de plusieurs modèles développés indépendemment les uns des autres et couplés via le coupleur OASIS3, développé au CERFACS.
- ARPEGE-Climat pour l’atmosphère
- NEMO pour l’océan, modèle développé par le consortium du même nom (CMCC, CNRS, INGV, Mercator-océan, Met-Office, NOC)
- GELATO pour la glace de mer, modèle développé au CNRM-GAME (Salas-Mélia, 2002)
- SURFEX pour les surfaces continentales (ISBA) et les flux océan-atmosphère
- TRIP pour simuler le transport de l’eau douce des fleuves vers les océans, initialement développé à l’Université de Tokyo.

CNRM-CM5 est développé en collaboration avec l’équipe GLOBC du CERFACS.

 Applications

Les composantes qui constituent CNRM-CM5 lui confèrent la capacité de reproduire l’état moyen du climat actuel et la variabilité climatique à des échelles de temps du mois au siècle. CNRM-CM5 participe ainsi à l’exercice d’intercomparaison CMIP5 sur lequel repose une partie importante des travaux du GIEC. Il est possible d’accéder à la base de données rassemblant les résultats des simulations climatiques réalisées par CNRM-CM5 à partir du portail CMIP5 du CNRM-GAME.
CNRM-CM5 est un outil essentiel
- pour étudier et améliorer notre compréhension du système climatique
- pour simuler les siècles passés et faire des études d’attribution du changement climatique
- pour réaliser des simulations du climat futur (à l’échelle du siècle) suivant les scénarios d’émission de gaz à effet de serre
- pour simuler des paléo-climats
- pour effectuer des prévisions saisonnières

 Quelques résultats

La figure ci-dessus représente l’évolution de la moyenne planétaire de la température de l’air près de la surface simulée par CNRM-CM5 (courbes en orange) entre 1850 et 2010. La courbe en noir représente les observations HadCRUT3. Dans les deux cas il s’agit d’écarts de cette température par rapport à la moyenne calculée sur la période 1961-1990. Dix simulations ont été réalisées avec CNRM-CM5, de manière à évaluer la variabilité climatique interne : le climat simulé peut être légèrement différent d’une réalisation à l’autre. Ces simulations prennent toutes en compte l’évolution des concentrations atmosphériques des gaz à effet de serre et des aérosols. Contrairement aux gaz à effet de serre, les aérosols atmosphériques, petites particules en suspension, ont un effet refroidissant sur le climat. Les variations de l’intensité lumineuse du soleil ont également été introduites dans CNRM-CM5. On estime en effet que ces variations (ici, le cycle de 11 ans) peuvent induire des variations de la température de la planète de l’ordre de 0,1°C. Enfin, les éruptions volcaniques majeures sont également représentées : chacune d’entre elles se traduit par un refroidissement global de plusieurs dixièmes de °C, relativement brutal mais temporaire. Cet effet est notamment visible dans nos simulations en 1883 (Krakatoa), 1902 (Santa Maria), 1964 (Agung), 1982 (El Chichon) et 1991 (Pinatubo). L’impact des volcans apparaît également dans les observations, même s’il est probablement sous-estimé dans le cas de l’éruption du Krakatoa. Enfin, l’évolution générale à la hausse de la température est correctement simulée par le modèle : une première phase de réchauffement des années 20 aux années 40, puis un léger refroidissement, suivi d’un réchauffement prononcé à partir de la fin des années 70.

 Références

Salas-Mélia, D. (2002) : A global coupled sea ice-ocean model. Ocean Modelling 4, 137-172.

Salas-Mélia, D., F. Chauvin, M. Déqué, H. Douville, J.-F. Gueremy, F. Chauvin, S. Planton, J.-F. Royer and S. Tyteca (2005) : Description and validation of the CNRM-CM3 global coupled model, CNRM Tech. Rep. 103.

Voldoire, A., E. Sanchez-Gomez, D. Salas y Mélia, B. Decharme, C. Cassou, S.Sénési, S. Valcke, I. Beau, A. Alias, M. Chevallier, M. Déqué, J. Deshayes, H. Douville, E. Fernandez, G. Madec, E. Maisonnave , M.-P. Moine, S. Planton, D.Saint-Martin, S. Szopa, S. Tyteca, R. Alkama, S. Belamari, A. Braun, L. Coquart, F. Chauvin (2011) : The CNRM-CM5.1 global climate model : description and basic evaluation, Clim. Dyn., accepted, DOI:10.1007/s00382-011-1259-y. Available here.